Houston Arboretum and Nature Center

Standard

I am making my way around all of the green spaces in Houston. A few weeks ago I set my sights on the Houston Arboretum and Nature Center, which is entirely located within Memorial Park. It is about 10 miles away from where we live.

I got there very early, about 8:30 a.m., because I was warned that the parking lot fills up quickly during the weekends. Plus it made sense to walk before the heat of the day settled in.

I was pleasantly surprised by the A&NC. There are lots of little trails to choose from, and it seems like each one featured something different, such as a pond or a meadow. Each trail is small, so it is a good place to take your kids or your dog for a quick loop. The largest trail is the “outer loop” and even that one is only two miles round trip. I stuck to a bunch of the smaller trails near the nature center, but I would like to go do the loop some other time.

The highlight for me was the meadow trail. It was a huge field filled with sunflowers. It was breathtaking. At that moment, I felt as far away from the hustle and bustle of Houston as one could get.

Another interesting find was a very large spider in a web! I am terrified of spiders, and wanted to leave immediately, but the urge to photograph it was stronger!

Houston Arboretum and Nature Center_8

Houston Arboretum and Nature Center_20

Houston Arboretum and Nature Center_24

Houston Arboretum and Nature Center_25

Houston Arboretum and Nature Center_28

Houston Arboretum and Nature Center_43

Houston Arboretum and Nature Center_40

Houston Arboretum and Nature Center_39

Houston Arboretum and Nature Center_51

Houston Arboretum and Nature Center_56

Houston Arboretum and Nature Center_14

Leave a Reply

