Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo

Standard

The three-week Houston rodeo is underway. I went last week and ended up being on the grounds for seven hours! And I was never bored; there was always something to do or look at. And I’ve only experienced the grounds so far. The real fun starts this weekend, when I have the first of three concerts/rodeos to attend.

Here are some highlights from my day:

Houston Rodeo_13

Houston Rodeo_88

The shopping was amazing. Thank goodness I didn’t have much money to spend otherwise I could have easily bought myself a whole new wardrobe. I did buy one shirt though, which I plan to wear to the Willie Nelson concert this weekend!

Houston Rodeo_16

Houston Rodeo_25

Houston Rodeo_38

Houston Rodeo_57

Houston Rodeo_72

Houston Rodeo_50

Lots of animals on display of course. My favorites were the baby chickens and the longhorn!

Houston Rodeo_45

This was a part of a neat exhibit called The Tour of Texas. There were sections dedicated to each area of Texas, and you got to learn about their native plants, animals, etc.

Houston Rodeo_93

The mascot of Houston Rodeo!

Houston Rodeo_101

Houston Rodeo_103

Houston Rodeo_220

Houston Rodeo_232

The carnival area of the Rodeo was huge! There was a kids carnival and one for older people. I definitely wouldn’t go near most of the rides. I did however go on the nice, slow sky ride.

Houston Rodeo_116

Houston Rodeo_128

Some type of herding event for riders. I had no idea what the premise was, but it was still interesting to watch!

Houston Rodeo_149

Pig racing is always a highlight!

Houston Rodeo_198

I also got to see an animal show. This is a bear cat. I’ve never seen one before. Apparently they smell like popcorn!

It was overall a great day. I’m glad I went on a Wednesday because it was value day because you get in for $5 instead of $10. It was so overrun with school kids though! One would have to have a lot of patience when going through the exhibits. (I usually do not.) But had I gone this week, during Houston School District’s spring break, I’m sure it would be much worse. The amounts of food were ridiculous. It took me forever to decide what I wanted to eat. First I had to sort out the crazy food from the normal food. (Alligator on a stick, anyone?) I ended up getting a bowl of chili and later had a cinnamon bun as a snack. Also, it was so neat seeing just about everyone in cowboy boots. I kept thinking to myself, “These are my people! I belong here!”

Stay tuned for more rodeo and concert pictures!

 

Leave a Reply

